Marketing Checkpoint

Options to start a membership site

Guest Philippe Moisan

Guest Philippe Moisan

Hello everyone,

I want to start a membership site. Not a TE or mailer, simply a site about video marketing.

For a long time, I had considered using a WordPress plug-in. But right now, I am thinking of starting it on the Ning network.

The reasons are that I'm not a programmer, and if my site was hacked or in trouble, I'm afraid it could be tough to recover, or it would cost a lot. Maybe I'm paranoid.

I don't know much about Ning. They have a 14-day trial, after that you pay minimum $25/month for 1,000 members. It seems pretty easy to set up.

Would you go ahead with a WP site ? Or do you know other alternatives to Ning ?

Thanks!

Philippe

As far as I know ning is just for social communities, I'm not sure what control you would have in there for what you want to do... what is it you are looking to do with video marketing - like training? I would think wordpress would be better suited or at least with plug-ins you can make it do mostly whatever you need.

Founder of Marketing Checkpoint

My Blog

• 2 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...

Depending on your strategy/plan, knowledge of Wordpress & coding, and how much time you want to spend developing a website, there may be less complicated solutions. Do you want a social network? That's what Ning is designed to provide, but in terms of content delivery, drip feeds, and the marketing capabilities...I'd be surprised if you'd be happy with Ning as a solution (depending on your plan).

Hustle. Do everything in your power to reach beyond your goals.

Guest Philippe Moisan

Hey guys,

Thanks for the feedback.

I decided to go ahead with Optimize Press. The drip feed part is what made my decision clear, thanks to Matt for confirming that. Also, I'd like solid support, and Optimize Press seems to offer that.

Philippe

• 2 months later...

Hey guys,

Thanks for the feedback.